Goodbye Microsoft! .. Hello Apple! .. Sort Of ..

I recently started an effort to see how much I can move out of the Microsoft product world and into the world of Apple. For nine years I worked at Microsoft and felt compelled to support the brand which meant no Apple anywhere in my life. In May 2009 Microsoft and I parted ways. Microsoft was a great experience where I met some really great people and some not so great people much like happens in everyday life. I will retain the fond memories and hopefully the great friendships.

So free from the need to support the Microsoft brand I took the first step by getting an iPhone 3GS. Here is where the belief that there can really be beautiful software started to take hold. Last weekend I made a decision to move further into the Apple world. I now own a 13.3″ MacBook Pro. I am going to continue my eduction beyond obtaining a Project Management certificate. While my Gateway NetBook was getting the job done for my UC Berkeley Extension Project Management certificate classes it’s 11.6″ screen and lack of built in DVD player were limitations at least in my mind. OK I was looking for any excuse to buy a new laptop. So I decided to make the purchase and since I had been checking Apple Macs out for the last two months I bought the MacBook Pro. It was an ease to set up besides being just down right beautiful. I did setup Windows using Parallels and it runs fine. I can even move my files back and forth between my Mac and my Windows Home Server. One word here about Windows Home Server. It is a great product, value priced and affords great protection of your data via automated backups of your PCs. I understand their is a Beta version out that will support Macs.

So while I am on a quest to see how much Microsoft I can remove from my personal life it might be harder than I think.I expect it will be a blend.

 

 

This entry was posted in Apple Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment