Long Solo XC Done!

I got my Long XC done today. My plan was KTRK > KSAC > KCIC with an additional full stop landing in KCIC. I picked a weekday because KSAC is not as busy. I scheduled the plane 14 days ago and kept checking the forecast as AccuWeather was predicting high winds in Sacramento and Chico. It turned out the winds were 3 knots in Truckee at 9:00 AM, 12 knots in SAC and about 7 knots in Chico.

I built my flight plan last evening and checked weather again early this morning. I met with my CFII Jeff at 8:00 AM to review my flight plan and get his signoff. We spoke about the low ceilings in Blue Canyon and Oroville as well as the winds at 6000 (2516+04) and 9000 (2826-04). It was agreed that the if clouds over Blue Canyon were as reported (low, broken and scattered) I could fly over them at 10500 and then if the San Joaquin valley looked covered over I could return to Truckee. This left my return route from Chico to Truckee which called for me climbing out and over Oroville to the east. Jeff felt the clouds on my route would clear a bit based upon the typical weather patterns this time of year. With a good plan reviewed by Jeff and a good discussion about options and bailout actions I fueled the plan and departed.

So today was a time for two more firsts those being flying over clouds and doing a solo long XC.  I had my normal low level anxiety thinking about how the turbulence would be over the mountain ridges today before I left for the airport. As those of you that fly in the mountains know it is just a fact that there will be bumps and it comes down to just how big the bumps will get.

Once I got in the plane I felt calm which while not a first for me it made for a good start to the trip. Yes I had some concerns about the clouds and ceilings but I knew my options and the actions I would take given what I found. It was the first time I had flown over clouds. I had not even flown over them with my instructor. It turned out to be a great experience flying above broken and scattered clouds. Since they were broken and scattered, which confirmed what the check of the weather prior to the flight indicated, I could see the ground at all times so I was able to spot landing areas in case of an emergency. Flying parallel to I-80 is a good idea when departing Truckee until you get to Blue Canyon just in case you need to use it as a landing strip. You never know. I will say while I am not fearful of flying over the mountains I do get a bit more comfortable when I have flat lands under me knowing there are more emergency landing areas. But if you look hard enough and often enough you will find them in the mountains.

Prior to taking off from Chico I called Jeff. I told him of the wall of clouds to the east which is where I wanted to go. We discussed options and it was decided I would depart to the south back towards Sacramento and look for a clearing that would let my climb up and above the clouds. I also checked my fuel tanks and did a calculation to make sure I had enough fuel even if I had to back track all the way to Sacramento. I was good and would have the required reserves. When I took off the clouds were coming in waves and while broken and scattered I did not feel comfortable trying to climb up through because I had enough room to fly below them and observe the required cloud clearances. The great thing is I had FF on all my legs today. Oakland Center and Norcal were and have been great. (I read that controllers don’t give vectors to VFR pilots. Well I got vectored around a lot by the controllers today as I have in the past flying into and out of Reno.) So I told the controller my destination was Truckee and I was heading south to find a clearing. I got between Beale and Sacramento International and the clouds parted. I was watching my position relative to those two airspaces as well on the Garmin 530. I told Norcal that I was leaving 2500 climbing for 5500. They came back and told me I was cleared to go direct to Truckee. I changed my heading and confirmed I could transition over the top of Beale. I let Norcal know I was now leaving 5500 for 9500.

So I got back to Truckee an hour later than my plan stated I would get there. That’s OK. I did not file the flight plan knowing I would be talking to someone along all my legs and they would know exactly where I was if an emergency happened. (I did hear an emergency call on my way back and the controller gave them vectors to Beale. It turned out to be a fuel emergency.) And when I was flying back up over the mountains the winds had picked up to 12 knots gusting to 19 at Truckee. That was OK too as they were from 200 and I had RWY 19 as an option. Yes it really started to get bumpy as I approached Blue Canyon but that was OK too. I will say my landing on 19 was not real pretty as the gusts gave me a bit of wind shear but that was OK too as I left the plane flyable keeping the slight bounce on the mains and not the nose wheel.

I really learned a lot today. The clouds gave me a new classroom and really helped me understand required clearances, how to avoid clouds and how to plan options in advance for the weather you might expect along the routes.  Because of the discussion with my CFII prior to my flight and again in Chico along with the flight following from the great people at Oakland Center and Norcal I flew safe today while completing my long XC. I feel great and know I have knocked out one more requirement in my quest. As today approached I really wondered if I could get it done. I did! Yipeee! I think I can have a beer or two tonight.

 

  

   

This entry was posted in Aviation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment